30 Days of Thanks Day 11: Veterans

Every year for November 11th, I have thanked veterans. I am appreciative of their sacrifice not just today, but every day. I am able to live independently because there have been men and women willing to serve my country in the armed forces.

Last year, I wrote about my favorite veteran, my father. In case you missed it the first time, you can find it here. I don’t have anything to add other than to say how much I miss Dad. I miss his laugh, his smile, his hugs, and his stories. It has been almost a year since I last saw him, and eleven months since his death.

Dad had great stories to share about his years in the Army. He spent time in Alaska and described the ship ride through the Pacific in vivid detail. Somewhere there is a photo Dad took of Dwight “Ike” Eisenhower visiting the troops. I like this photo of my Dad better.

Black and white image of a young white man in uniform. He is kneeling in snow, in front of an army building, holding a rifle to his shoulder.

Today I am grateful for Dad, for my uncles, cousins, brother-in-law, nephew, friends and everyone who has served in uniform. I appreciate your sacrifice and service. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

