30 Days of Thanks Day 27 – Christy and Mike

Twenty six years ago, my high school friend Vicki moved to the city I now call home for a new job. I met her roommate, Christy, when Vicki, Stephanie and I helped plan our friend Allison’s bridal shower. We held the shower in the community room of my apartment complex. A few months later, I saw Christy and Vicki again at Allison’s wedding where we danced and laughed all afternoon.

Two years ago, I saw someone who looked like Christy walking across the parking lot in front of my apartment. I thought about the fun times we had the summer of Allison’s wedding, and told myself I should do a better job of keeping in touch with long lost friends. I didn’t think about it again until I got a Facebook message from Christy a few days later.

Hey – do you still live in Strawberry Ridge? I think we’re neighbors!

Sure enough, Christy and her husband Mike had moved into an apartment in the building across the parking lot from my old apartment. Since I’m always looking for new people to add to my local support network, I was excited to have another friend close by.

Christy and Mike were great neighbors. They helped clean my car off when it snowed if nobody else had gotten to it. A few mornings when I was stuck without a Personal Assistant, Christy came over to help me get out of bed. The three of us spent a lively day at Saratoga Race Course a delightful young-at-heart friend of theirs. They kept a spare set of my car keys in case of an emergency while I was in Australia.

When I fell in January, I sent a message to Christy asking her to keep an eye on things while I was in the hospital. Christy and Mike came to visit me, bringing cheer and positive energy on a night when I was not happy with the prospect of an extended stay in rehabilitation.

Whatever you need when you get home, just let us know.

This past summer, Christy and Mike volunteered to help me move. They spent a Saturday packing box after box, taping and labeling at top speed. Seriously, those two are pros and had my living room and kitchen packed in no time!

Living down in town means I have more freedom to take part in town activities. In September, I was able to walk down to the harbor to meet Christy and Mike for the annual Tug Boat Round-Up. We walked along the canal, snapping photos of the tugs, talking while Mike (a former Navy sailor) toured the boats.

Thank you Christy and Mike for being great neighbors and loyal friends. I appreciate your willingness to help me and I’m grateful you were willing to join my circle of support. We’ll have to plan something fun together this winter, and I promise it won’t involve packing tape!

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks Day 27 – Christy and Mike

Leave a Reply

