30 Days of Thanks Day 25 – Stephanie

I wrote about my bestest best friend, Stephanie, in 2014 when I first did the 30 Days of Thanks challenge on my blog. As I have explained for most of my life, Stephanie is the sister I got to pick for myself. She is what the author Lucy Maud Montgomery described in Anne of Green Gables as a bosom friend, “a kindred spirit to whom I can confide my innermost soul.”

When I fell in January, I made two phone calls while waiting for the ambulance. I called my sister Caroline, and then I called Stephanie. I always call Stephanie whenever I am at the end of my rope. And she always answers.

Stephanie lives three hours away, and does not like to drive in snow. I did not expect her to come visit me in the hospital because a trip to see me in January or February would most likely involve snow. So, when she walked through my door on the first Sunday I was at Sunnyview Rehabiltation Hospital, I almost started to cry.

Hello there Niecie!

Stephanie is one of five people who can get away with calling me that, a nickname her mom used to use. Stephanie, along with her husband, youngest son Brad, and mother-in-law, made me laugh, offered repeated hugs, and brightened an otherwise dreary afternoon.

I had to come. I just needed to make sure you were really OK.

Stephanie and Brad came up to visit again in August, the weekend before I moved. She knew I was stressed about finishing my packing, and cleaning out my “junk room.”

We’ll see what the weather is like. If it’s raining we can do work inside. But if it’s nice we should probably go have some fun.

I can always count on Steph for fun. Sure enough, she and Brad arrived and within two hours, we had a lunch packed and were on our way up to Saratoga Race Course. We spent the day watching horses and people, laughing over silly things, trying to capture the perfect photo. Our day was the perfect break from reality, a much needed oasis of frivolity in the midst of anxiety.

Stephanie – thank you for always “getting me.” I cannot imagine a world without your presence as my bosom friend, a true kindred spirit. Throughout this year you have listened, cajoled, encouraged, and laughed with me. You have seen and listened to me at my absolute worst, and you still love me anyway. I don’t know how I managed to get so lucky as to claim you as my partner in cute. Everyone needs a Stephie in their life, but I’m not sharing mine.

I’m grateful for the gift of your friendship all these years. Here’s to more fun adventures for another forty years!

Two Caucasian women leaning towards each other, holding adult size sippy cups with straws. Both women have brown hair and glasses.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks Day 25 – Stephanie

Leave a Reply

