30 Days of Thanks Day 20 – My Personal Assistants

I regularly thank the Personal Assistants (PAs) I employ both in person and publicly. Without their efforts and dedication, I would not be able to live independently in the community. They are vital to my ability to function as the professional woman I try to be.

This year has been a rocky year for me when it comes to my PA team. I have faced employee theft, injuries, and illness in my staff. As all managers know, you are only as good as your team and it has been difficult for me to retain a quality team in 2016.

I employ fourteen women as PAs, with six of them filling the majority of my weekly home care shifts and the rest serving as per diem or back up staff. Yesterday I described Consumer Directed Personal Assistance and my role as employer in my self-directed home care program. Rather than a nursing agency scheduling and sending staff to my house, I am responsible for recruiting, training, scheduling and managing my staff. While this does offer more freedom and control, it also comes with great responsibility.

Please don’t misunderstand me – the women I employ are wonderful. They are kind, considerate, compassionate and respectful. Most of the fourteen women on my payroll have been working for me for more than three years. I am grateful to have them and recognize how limited my life would be without their service.

However, gaps in staff make it difficult to function. If my staff are unavailable and I cannot find a fill-in, I am not able to honor commitments to work, volunteer groups, or friends. I miss appointments or meetings if my PA calls out when she is supposed to drive me somewhere. When I can’t find paid staff to assist me, I must ask friends and family to help fulfill my basic needs, and unless you have had to call someone to help you pee or poop, you may not be able to understand how I truly detest having to make that call. Friends and family are kind and helpful, and do not make me feel guilty about having to call. I do that just fine on my own. That’s my issue, not theirs. Fodder for another post.

I have hired, and fired, more PAs since February than I have in the prior two years. I require more assistance now than before my femur fracture, and my established staff did not have the availability to take on my new shifts. I have used multiple online sources to advertise my employment opportunity, and have had good response. But a good response does not always yield good candidates. Since February, I have screened 48 applicants, conducted 23 phone interviews, and 8 in-person interviews. I have hired 4 people, and fired 3.

I am still looking for a PA to work some weekday and weekend shifts, if anyone knows someone looking for part time work in the Albany, NY area! Although the job does require some physical labor (the ideal candidate will be able to lift 50 pounds and will be comfortable standing, bending, squatting and reaching), it is a casual work environment and my staff routinely get to be taste testers for new cookie recipes!

All kidding aside, the job of a PA is very demanding and can be challenging. I am human, and sometimes I have a bad day or a broken leg, and I just don’t want to have to deal with people because I am in pain and frustrated – even though I need a person to be in my space so I can go to the bathroom, get undressed and go to bed. My PAs are also human, and sometimes they have bad days, or sick children, or hospitalized parents, or dying pets. When these things happen (and they have all happened this year), it can be difficult for both me and my PAs to tolerate each other.

But my PAs keep coming to work. They are pleasant and upbeat, even when I complain non-stop about pain. They help me with my physical therapy and stretching, even when I swear and grimace every time my knee moves from extension to flexion. They find creative ways to style my hair to help hide the shorter patch which is still growing back after the nurses cut it out when they removed the central line from my neck. They learn new ways of performing tasks as my body changes and I lose muscle strength and range of motion. They adjust to new routines as I settle into my new home. They are patient when I am delayed returning home because the bus was late to pick me up.

The women I hire are my arms and legs. They make it possible for me to remain active and engaged with my friends, family and colleagues. Without Michelle, Sally B, Stephanie C, Caroline, Ronda, Amie, Tina, Therese, Stephanie M, Sally W, Lisa, Sarah, Esther, and Margaret I would not be able to live an empowered life. I am grateful for all the tasks they perform day in and day out, with diligence and dignity.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks Day 20 – My Personal Assistants

Leave a Reply

