My Go-To Tunes: Go Me!

Happy belated anniversary! Oh, you missed it too? Don’t worry. So did I.

Two years ago, on September 7, 2014, I swallowed my fears and hit “publish” for the very first time. I had no idea my little personal writing blog would grow. I thought maybe I’d get 50 followers, with most of them being friends and family. I worried people would laugh at my writing, or question me when I claimed to be a writer.

Well, look at little DeeScribes now! I’ve succeeded at this writing adventure!

  • 268 posts
  • 18,181 views (I love this palindromic number)
  • 9,428 visitors
  • 287 followers

Last year, I was encouraged to set blogging goals and I jokingly responded that I’d have 300 followers by the end of 2016. I never thought I would be this close to reaching the goal by September!

Thank you for sticking with me as I follow my writing dreams. Your words of encouragement, particularly this year, have sustained me when I was ready to crawl in a corner and withdraw. You honor me by taking some of your precious time to read my writing, and I appreciate the gift of your comments and feedback.

To celebrate our anniversary, I’m sharing a very “Dee Song.” Yes, it’s a real thing.  Just ask my friends. Don’t believe me?

Ten years ago, while I was nursing yet another broken heart, my college roommate Chris sent me some music to make me smile. This song, “Supergirl” by Saving Jane, was one of the songs on the CD,  and when I told her I loved it, Chris told me it was a very “Dee Song.” See – I told you so.

“Supergirl” has been my phone ring tone for the past four years. It is a fixture on my Friday afternoon “move it” playlist. I use it whenever I need a reminder that I am flirty, fabulous, and fantastic. I searched for an official video, but the live versions I found were not as easy to understand as the original recorded version. You don’t need to watch the video, just listen to the song.

Happy two years!

6 thoughts on “My Go-To Tunes: Go Me!

    • Yes! In the meantime, it will make a great tune to play while you are driving with the windows down. Trust me, if I can rock out to it in a converted minivan, you can rock out to it in anything!

      Like

    • Good for you! It is important to read other blogs – particularly those written by other disabled writers if you are going to write about disability issues. Write regularly. Respond to people who comment on your blog – some people might disagree with me, but I think it is important. What is your blog? I’ll be happy to give it a look!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Well done. You and I started about the same time – I must check the date of my first walking the Derwent blog post. You are continuing to contribute wonderful posts – and I will be returning to mine in the next few months. Time consuming other commitments have taken priority over writing up all the last walks I did to make the trek from the mouth to the source complete. In my case there is a finish line. In your blog, you will be able to continue to add value and knowledge to people’s lives. Its an extremely worthwhile thing you are doing – for your self, and for the world at large. Congrats!

    Like

Leave a Reply

