Write a Manifesto?

This week I am taking part in Jeff Goins’ Blog Like a Pro (BLP) Challenge. Each day, I will write a post in line with the assignment. If you are a blogger and want to learn how to join in on the fun, visit here to learn the details.

I was born with a progressive neuromuscular disease, Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). When I was diagnosed at age three, doctors could not predict how long I would walk, when I would need to use a wheelchair, or how long I would live.

My parents chose to raise me as a person with capabilities, rather than limitations. Sure, there were activities I could not do. This did not excuse me from chores I could perform, such as washing and drying dishes, or setting and clearing the table.

I was raised to be an optimist – to look for possibilities when others might see challenges, solutions when faced with barriers.

They were shaping what would become my manifesto.

I first thought about writing a manifesto in 2014 when I joined the My 500 Words community. This initiative, also created by Jeff, encourages writers to write at least 500 words every day. There are daily prompts in case you need a focus to help you get your words out. When I joined the group, I noticed Jeff had a manifesto.

Jeff’s manifesto popped up again when I enrolled in his Tribe Writer’s course. I say “enrolled” instead of “completed” because I didn’t complete much at all. I attempted to address the assignments, but I was not in a place where I could focus on my writing due to other commitments.

Now I am committed to trying his latest challenge. Our first assignment?

“Write a manifesto: a 500-word treatise on what you’re about.”

This time, I am going to do it. In fact, I already have 485 words! I am not sharing it here yet because I have work to do. But I committed to posting each day, so I am putting this up. This way, you will know I am working on a project and will hold me accountable.

I will finish the manifesto, I promise. And I will share it with everyone in the hopes it will inspire you to take action.

As always, thank you for joining me on this journey as I explore my writing dreams. I haven’t written much this year due to my injury. Now that I am writing every day once again, I finally feel like I am on my way back to “me.”

9 thoughts on “Write a Manifesto?

Leave a Reply

