30 Days of Thanks Day 26 – Happy Thanksgiving!

This past Sunday, the New York Times featured an op-ed by Arthur C. Brooks, “Choose to Be Grateful. It Will Make You Grateful.” I read it with eagerness, because I have often encouraged friends who are having difficulty finding happiness to make gratitude lists. When we take time to recognize what is good in our lives, things which make us feel better, we feel better than when we focus on what makes us unhappy.

Sometimes life makes it difficult to be grateful. There are times when we are bogged down by the day-to-day struggles. It is easy to forget to be thankful when we are facing illness, grief or lonliness.

I know friends and family members who are struggling to find gratitude today. I have endured holidays when I felt despondent while everyone else appeared to be joyous and happy. Memories of those times cause me to be even more appreciative for all the blessings I have received this year.  My gratitude list for today is long, but here are a few things for which I am thanful.

I am thankful to be living on my own, independently in the community when so many people with disabilties are living in institutions. I have access to home care and I am grateful to the women who work each and every day so I can contine to meet my basic needs.

I am grateful to have a place to live, food to eat and clean clothes to wear.

I am blessed to have family and friends who love me.

I am grateful to everyone who has come to be a regular reader of my blog. Last year when I started sharing my writing, I had no idea how this process would change my life. I have made new friends, reconnected with forever friends, and found a new way to help other people. I am humbled and overwhelmed by your outpouring of support, and grateful to all of you who grant me the honor of reading my words and sharing them when they move you to do so.

What is on your gratitude list today? 

4 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks Day 26 – Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. 🙂 I am grateful that today is the first day of my annual leave. 🙂
    Actually, there are many, many things I am grateful for, and as I age it is easier to call them to mind when things aren’t so good – I am especially grateful for that wisdom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

