My Go-To Tunes: Trailblazer

Don’t tell anyone, but I secretly enjoy bluegrass music every now and then. There are bluegrass artists on my iPod. I have been known to sing along in my car.

When I was younger, I swore off bluegrass. I was never going to listen to bluegrass. I hated bluegrass.

Most of this stemmed from over-exposure. My brother-in-law’s family held an annual bluegrass festival in or near my hometown. For several years, my dad ran the concession booth and my friends and I were roped in eager to earn a few dollars so we agreed to work the weekend. For twelve hours each day we listened to bluegrass while serving hamburgers and hot dogs, counting out change and following my father’s orders.

But a few years removed from the festivals, I realized I appreciated the musicality and talent of some bluegrass artists. I hummed along in secret when Alison Krause came on the radio. I even wrote a country tune which could easily be played by a bluegrass band.

A few years ago I found this song by The Roys. I like the upbeat nature and the lyrics spoke to me. More than one person has called me a trailblazer. While I may not always think they are correct,  I do appreciate the compliment.

Yesterday was the twenty fifth anniversary of my arrival in Australia as a Rotary youth exchange student – one of the first students with a disability to participate in the program and (from what we can tell) the first to use a wheelchair. Now I am a Rotarian, and have been elected President-Elect of my Rotary Club. Yesterday was also the first of my President-Elect training sessions. During the training, someone called me a trailblazer.

Later, when I got in my car to drive home, this was the first song to come on when I hit “play” on my iPod. It’s been in my head ever since, so I’m sharing it with all of you. Have a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “My Go-To Tunes: Trailblazer

  1. They are a brother,sister duo, so harmony and sound is very good together. Yes, we have heard of them, and enjoy some of their stuff too. Sometimes you just need to hear a really good bluegrass song. Even Mary Jane had a copy of classic trained musicians(fill in Yo Yo Ma, Mark O’Connor, and others) doing progressive and bluegrass music.
    To all the trailblazers out there. Thanks for the song.

    Like

  2. Congrats, President elect!! Love the little tidbits about your life that you infuse into your posts. I grew up saying is never listen to country music (I was surrounded by it growing up in my small town) but lo and behold, it’s pretty much all I listen to lately.

    Like

    • Thank you Allison! It’s funny how our tastes change as we grow into “adulthood” isn’t it? I also swore I’d never be one of “those people” who complained about loud music at an event but Friday I asked the DJ if he could turn down the music.

      Like

Leave a Reply

