My Go-To Tunes: This One’s for the Class of 1995

This weekend is my twentieth college reunion. I don’t feel as if it has been twenty years, but the calendar tells me it has been. I am spending the weekend reminiscing and laughing with my friends. Some of us are staying on campus. In fact, I am rooming with Chris, who was my roommate for most of my college experience.

I have been active in my Alumni Association for ten years, and served as President from 2011 to 2014. This is the first Alumni Weekend I am not obligated to attend in eight years, but it is MY year, so of course I am going. My bag is packed with the essentials: clothes, make up, towels, hair dryer, toiletries, bottle opener, corkscrew and glasses. I’m excited and ready for this trip down memory lane with the people who helped be grow and shape me into the person I am now.

If you are a regular reader, you know I connect music with memories. But, somehow I never made a St. Rose playlist! I rectified this, and to make this weekend a bit more fun (and to help get in the mood) I am sharing some tunes which always take me back to life in Lima and Riley Halls. Enjoy this trip down memory lane! Class of 1995 – this one’s for you!

American Music – Violent Femmes

This song, the first on the “Why Do Birds Sing” album, was a staple in Room 2 of Riley Hall. Chris and I played this CD frequently. Who doesn’t like American Music?

The Globe – Big Audio Dynamite

The legal drinking age in New York is 21. There were a few places which were accessible and allowed underage admission. One of those places was Peabody’s. Chris and I went there one night, along with my freshman year roommate Chrysta. As this song played, the crowd went nuts because Otto arrived. I don’t know who Otto was, if that was his real name, or why he mattered. Still today, whenever I hear this song, I think of him. And the three of us dancing.

Dreams – Gabrielle

This song is Chris, and ladies night at Michael’s. Whenever it came on, she was the one who jumped up first.

Evenflow – Pearl Jam

“Ten” was released my freshman year and I remember listening with Tara in Lima Hall.

What Time is It – Spin Doctors

Whenever anyone asked this question, we always answered “4:30!” It didn’t matter what time it really was. There are still times I am tempted to say it.

I Palindrome I – They Might Be Giants

Some college students gather in their rooms and imbibe while listening to rock or rap. When we got together, They Might Be Giants was always on. And it was usually the Apollo 18 album.

Real Love – Mary J. Blige

When we went to Michael’s for ladies night, this song meant it was time to dance.

Laid – James

I have never seen this video before. I’ve been singing the song for twenty years. For me, this takes me back to “the summer of surgery” when I spent three months in a cast. We had a fun time planning new student orientation.

This Is How We Do It – Montell Jordan

I think I impressed my niece Karen last year at my nephew’s wedding when I was able to sing and rap all of the words to this song during the reception. Or else she was horrified and needed to cover her face in shame. This song is Senior Week, sipping Pink Swimmingo Kool-Aid on the lawn, midnight bowling

I Got a Man – Positive K

“You got a WHAT?! How long ya had that problem?!” I still use that line, even though most may not get the reference.

Set Adrift on Memory Bliss – PM Dawn

Sunday nights the local top 40 radio station played Open House Party. This song, along with their other song “I’d Die Without You” was often on.

Rumpshaker – Wreckx-N-Effect

Laurie (who was nicknamed Cully) was not much of a dancer, but this would always get her moving.

Right Here – SWV

I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say this song was on in the cafeteria every day during lunch for at least a year. In case you’re wondering what happened to SWV, they reunited and were nominated for a Grammy Award in 2013 for Best Traditional R&B Performance for their song “If Only You Knew.”

 

 

10 thoughts on “My Go-To Tunes: This One’s for the Class of 1995

  1. I love that the packing essentials include a bottle opener and a corkscrew- it’s guaranteed to be a good time! I wasn’t much of a fan of 90s music, but you found a few that I did listen to. Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

    • Since I’ve been on the Alumni Association Board of Directors and have gone to every Alumni Weekend for the past 12 years, I know enough to bring the essentials! 🙂 We had an amazing weekend, but I admit I’m exhausted. I’m not 21 anymore, even if I pretend to be.

      Like

  2. Hi from Tassie Dee
    Your readers may not realise that Violent Femmes member, Brian Ritchie now lives in Tasmania and the band is about to make another record before an extensive tour of the US. Have a great weekend!
    Love Mal

    Like

Leave a Reply

