“T” is for Tasmanian Devil (and Tonia)

When I joined an online writing group last year, I had no idea what to expect. I had read horror stories from some other groups. I knew as a social person I would do well if I could connect with other positive people who were engaged in the same activity. I took a deep breath and posted an introductory note, hoping I was not making a mistake.

Tonia was the first to welcome me, to say hello and reach out with support. She does this consistently for new members. If I have questions, or need to share a moment of joy, Tonia is always there. Whenever group members are struggling, she is the voice of reason and encouragement. Tonia is honest but never malicious. Earlier this year, when I was overwhelmed by the positive response to one of my posts, Tonia sent me a note I now have taped to my screen.Β Writing is not about numbers; it’s about heart.Β The message keeps me grounded, and has helped me focus many times.

Tonia’s blog, The Vast and Inscrutable Imponderabilities of Life, is full of wit and honest observations about the wonder of life.Β Like many bloggers, Tonia is participating in the A to Z Challenge this month. She graciously offered me an opportunity to write a guest post. I asked for the letter “T.” My post on the Tasmanian devil appeared on her blog yesterday. If you are interested, you can read it by clicking this link. While you are there, please visit her other pages. Read her exquisitely written prose, and admire her gorgeous photography.

In the post I mention a photo from my days as an exchange student. I did not provide that photo for Tonia’s post, and of course another amazing writing friend commented on the lack of said photo. So, for Roslynn, here is the photo of me as an exchange student twenty five years ago holding a Tasmanian devil.

Tasmanian devil
Please, try to focus on the Tasmanian devil and not my gigantic glasses!
17 thoughts on ““T” is for Tasmanian Devil (and Tonia)

  1. LOVE the glasses (just saw my cousin’s wife-to-be in a #TBT photo from 1982; same glasses…) and love the Tasmanian Devil (what a cute little thing!!). But what I absolutely love more than anything else about this photo is the cute hair… NO!!! I mean, what I absolutely love more than anything else about this photo is your adorable smile! So much life. So much joy. Forget about the glasses. The smile and the radiance. That’s what makes this photo so wonderful.

    Thanks for having the guts to get past the glasses! I had large, plastic aviators, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Dave! When I was looking at photos from my recent trip I noticed the same smile. The contrast between the joy and happiness I felt to what I immediately came home to was shocking. Things are better, but that big smile is present in all of my Australia photos, from every trip.

      Like

Leave a Reply

