Day 6 – GASP and MONA

The day offered a clear view of Mt. Wellington
The day offered a clear view of Mt. Wellington

Today started out cloudy with some early morning showers. I was a bit leery because we had planned an outdoor activity. But by the time we were ready to leave the house, the sky was clearing and sunshine was starting to break through.

Malcolm drove Kelly and I into Hobart where we met a new friend and fellow blogger. A few months ago I stumbled upon a delightful blog called Walking the Derwent. The Derwent River flows past Hobart and is the river visible in the photos I have been sharing. The blog is a collection of stories about walking paths and discoveries along the river. When I found the blog, I contacted the author to see if we might be able to meet up for a walk on an accessible path.

We started our walk at the Glenorchy Art and Sculpture ParkThe sun came out and soon we were shedding our sweaters. We followed the multicolored boardwalk around to Montrose Bay and then took the path down to the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA).

MONA opened in 2011 and after walking through it, one of my first thoughts was, “This would not have happened in Tasmania twenty five years ago!” The museum exhibits change so the works we saw on our visit today may not be there if you go for a visit in the future. Visitors enter the museum at the ground level then decend down three levels to the underground exhibit spaces.

We took the glass elevator down and worked our way back up. The building is completely wheelchair accessible and I was able to navigate without assistance. We had a delicious lunch outdoors, where we were visited by an eager duck who thought he might try to take a bite from Kelly’s hand. It was so nice to sit in sunshine and warmth! Have I mentioned it has been a long winter back home?

At the end of our exploration of the museum, Malcolm came to collect us. We drove back home through some afternoon showers, which left some beautiful rainbows over the river valley.

When I sat down at the table to write before dinner, I noticed a flurry of color outside the window. I looked up and saw some visitors at the bird feeder. I wasn’t able to make it outside to capture a photo, so the image has some reflections in the window. The clouds over the river glowed pink during sunset, the colors changing by the minute.

I have been having difficulty uploading photos to my blog posts. I have many to share, but for some reason, WordPress doesn’t want to let me. I will post them when I can. I have been sharing some on my Twitter feed, so you can look for them there. I will try to add galleries of photos when I get home.

Writing visitors
Writing visitors

During my first visit in 1990 I often encountered Australians from other states who, when hearing I was living in Tasmania, expressed sympathy. As if Tasmania was a back-water, hick location nobody would want to visit, much less stay. Now, there is an appreciation for the beauty of Tasmania, and the wonder one can find on the island. It makes me happy to see others recognizing and appreciating this amazing island, realising what I have always known. Tasmania is brilliant – and you should come experience it for yourself.

And if you need a tour guide – I may know someone who might be willing to offer her services.

**Today’s post is brought to you by my friend and fellow former Ms. Wheelchair New York, Luticha. Luticha – thank you for being a part of this amazing experience. If I find any yarn, I’ll be sure to share!

4 thoughts on “Day 6 – GASP and MONA

  1. Glad you had a great day – I haven’t been to MONA yet – I did drive past it today on my way to Campbelltown for a work meeting. Did you see that weird rainbow in the afternoon? Strangest one I have ever seen in my whole life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

