My Go-To Tunes: Retro Lunch

I have always had jobs which require me to spend many hours in my car. Because I am on the road at various times of day, I always know when the local stations play my favorite programs. Tuesdays at 3:00, it’s The Book Show on WAMC, my local NPR station. A local college station plays 90s at 9 on weekday mornings.

But my favorite show to listen to while driving is the Retro Lunch on WEQX. WEQX has called itself “the real alternative” for the twenty four years I’ve been listening. Their playlist is varied enough to hold my interest, which is saying something because although I love music, I get bored when I hear the same thing again, and again, and again. Each day at noon, the station plays a half hour of retro requests.

I’m not going to lie, some days it’s boring. Not today!

I happened to be in my car today at noon, driving back to the office from morning meetings. The sunshine is brilliant today, even though it is still bitterly cold outside (19F/-7C). I don’t know Nick from Rutland, VT, Gary from Albany, NY, Lisa from Saratoga, NY, or the others who requested today’s retro selections. However, I do appreciate the fun songs they requested for the middle of my day.

Squeeze, Blues Traveler, Paul Simon, Goldfinger, Live and Joe Jackson. I sang along, dancing in my seat, smiling at the other drivers who glanced at me with suspicion when we stopped for red lights.

It’s Friday, people! Lighten up!

Just in case you haven’t taken time to sing a retro song today, here’s a video clip of the last song I heard, Joe Jackson singing “Is She Really Going Out with Him?”

7 thoughts on “My Go-To Tunes: Retro Lunch

  1. I am firmly entrenched in the 80s, and I rarely find reason to venture away from my decade. If I do it is to take a trip back to the 50s, 60s, or 70s. I never could get into the angst-filled grunge music of the 90s, and I do not listen to much current stuff. I have apparently become my parents. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yesterday while I was driving home I realized I had been listening to the “oldies” station for half an hour. Only, they were playing songs from the 80s. I guess this makes me old too???

      Like

Leave a Reply

