1000 Speak

1000 SpeakA month ago I learned of a project called 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion. The group’s Facebook page explains the mission:

Let’s get 1000 bloggers to write posts about compassion, kindness, support, caring for others, non-judgement, care for the environment etc, and ALL PUBLISH ON THE SAME DAY (Feb 20th) to flood the Blogosphere with GOOD! Use the hashtag #1000Speak to promote this event.

It is not difficult to find bad news. I could provide links to stories about children being killed by family members or animals facing abuse. I won’t because I don’t want to search for them and you can easily find them for yourself without much effort.

I hear these stories each morning as I listen to the news when I get ready for work. I see them in my Facebook and Twitter feeds. Having been the target of hatred and discrimination, I know there are mean people in the world who can perform acts of cruelty.

But I also know we have great capacity for kindness and charity. I have been a grateful recipient of both. Strangers who have held a door or helped me grab an item out of my reach. Acquaintances who have come to my house to assist with my personal care when my paid staff have called in sick and I could not find a back-up employee. Friends and family who provided financial support when I was offered amazing opportunities beyond my means.

As I read about this project and thought about my participation, I realized I write about compassion frequently in my personal journals. My one word for 2015, charitable, lends itself to this activity. Acting in a charitable manner includes demonstrating compassion for others. In my advocacy efforts, I often encourage my audience to offer compassion to others instead of pity.

You do not need to be an expert blogger or writer to join this project. If you are interested in learning more, visit the Facebook page link provided above or visit Yvonne Spence’s blog to read about how this began. Share your message on your blog or on social media this Friday, February 20, using the hashtag #1000Speak. Perhaps we can help others who need more compassion in their lives by sharing our stories.

9 thoughts on “1000 Speak

Leave a Reply

