The Liebster Award

In the five months I have been blogging, I have seen bloggers announce various awards on their sites. I would read some of these posts, and I also read posts by bloggers who chose to be “award-free.” Since I had not been nominated for any blog awards, I really never put too much thought into any of these because I honestly never considered being mentioned. But Kim who writes SpiralSpun kindly nominated me for the Liebster Award.liebster-award

Here are the Official Rules for accepting the Liebster Award:

  • Put the Liebster Award logo on your blog.
  • Answer the questions given at the bottom of the nomination post and then come up with 10 new ones to ask your nominations.
  • Nominate 8 other blogs, let them know you have nominated them and put a link to their blog in your post.
  • No tag-backs.
  • You must tell all the blogs that you have nominated them.

Here are the questions Kim posed to me, with my answers below:

What do you do to cheer yourself up? 

When my mood needs a boost I find it helpful to connect with others. As a true extrovert (you can’t get more “E” than me on the Myers Briggs) I am reinvigorated and energized by conversation and interactions with others. Happy music helps. I also find volunteering or performing community service always makes me feel better even when I am at my lowest.

Which book would you like to have written?

I admire Harriet McBryde Johnson and her book Too Late to Die Young: Nearly True Tales From a Life changed my view of memoir written by people who have disabilities. I don’t necessarily wish I had written it, but I hope one day to write a memoir as honest and moving.

Which character from a book would you most like to be?

I have always felt an affinity for Jo March, from Little Women. Maybe it’s because she is one of many sisters. Maybe it’s because she wants to be a writer. Maybe it’s because she never gives up on love and finds it where she least expects it. But I think I would enjoy being Jo – as long as I don’t have to start a school for boys.

Name something unusual about yourself.

I eat Cheez-Its crackers in my yogurt. It’s not as gross as it sounds, if you can get past the visual of orange crackers in your yogurt.

What is your favourite thing about blogging?

I enjoy communicating with other writers, photographers and readers. I have learned so much and am humbled whenever a reader comments to let me know my words have been helpful or instructional.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I thought I would grow up to be a music teacher. Then I thought maybe music therapy, and decided to become a speech-language pathologist instead. I think when I grow up I’ll be a writer.

Name 3 people you would most like to have dinner with?

There are many historical figures I would like to have dinner with – mainly because I have LOTS of questions. Instead of selecting them, and since I often have dinner with living friends and family, I am going to select three people who are no longer alive. I would love to have dinner with my sister Mary Jane, her husband Zip and my Noni. If we can have Noni’s pasta and meatballs for said dinner, that would be PERFECT!

What is your favourite quote?

I have many, but one which has followed me for years is “Well-behaved women rarely make history.” Laurel Ulrich

What would you like to learn to do?

I would like to learn to knit. I am a crocheter who understands the basic principles of knitting, but no matter how I try I just can’t make it happen. I would like to become a knitter, instead of a crocheter who also tries to knit.

What scares you?

I am terrified by the thought of losing my independence and self-determination. I don’t mean losing physical ability. That is inevitable. Even though I need assistance, I still have independence and control over my life. I decide who comes into my house to assist me, when they come, how my life is lived. I can imagine a world where I am stripped of that dignity, because there are places in the United States and other countries where people with disabilities are forced to live in institutions or without the self-empowerment I take for granted. It is the reason I am a passionate advocate.

So many WordPress bloggers have written kind comments on my blog, for which I am grateful. I am happy to use this award to help share some blogs I read which you may not have heard about. I don’t expect anyone to accept or continue the chain if they don’t want to. I will completely understand if you don’t want to take part and I will not feel offended in any way if the blogs I nominate say “thanks, but no thanks.”

Sabrina’s Road To…

Sunshine in Puddles

Finding My Inner Zen

Love And Olives

Fill Your Own Glass

Never Sitting Still

Rich Proctor Photography

Health On Wheels

My questions for the blogs are:

1.  Where do you find inspiration?

2.  Audiobooks – yes or no?

3.  What is your favorite comfort food?

4.  What do you do when someone says “you can’t?”

5.  What has surprised you about blogging?

6.  Where would you spend a month’s vacation if money were not a factor?

7.  What is currently playing or was last played on your radio or iPod (or whatever device you use to listen to music)?

8.  What is the best advice you ever received (even if you didn’t listen)?

9.  What makes you frustrated?

10. You’ve been given the opportunity to live as an animal for a day. Which animal would you choose?

8 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Congrats on this much-deserved recognition! I am honored to be included on your list, and I look forward to visiting your other choices. 🙂 Hmmm…I love Cheez-its and yogurt, but I never thought to put them together. I may have to give that one a try! I wish I had that extrovert quality. I am introverted, but I find a certain ability to act more extroverted online. I loved reading your answers and learning more about you. Best, Karen 🙂

    Like

    • Coworkers at my current job were appalled at my Cheez-Its and yogurt snack. At my last job, my cubicle neighbors all knew I kept a stash of Cheez-Its on hand and knew it was snack time if they heard me getting the box 🙂 I had fun with this, and appreciate the opportunity to call attention to other writers I enjoy. Crafting 10 questions to pose to others was more challenging than I originally thought it would be!

      Like

    • Thank you! I think most people are interesting and we can learn a great deal by asking questions and listening. I had fun with the questions. I view these as opportunities to help expose other blogs, as so many have kindly done for me.

      Like

    • Thank you! I’m having fun with it. Now that I’m over my initial fear of putting my writing out there for people to see, it’s more enjoyable. Fear still lurks, but doesn’t have the same effect on me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

