Under Construction

When I started this blog in September, I didn’t follow my normal pattern of behavior. Typically, when I try something new, I practice and make sure I can present a product I am proud of before I share it with the world. Instead, I threw a blog together and just started writing. I’m not saying that I’m not proud of my little blog – I am actually quite proud of the fact I have kept it up for four months and have consistently pushed myself to learn and do more.

However, the time has come for me to spend some time on the “behind the scenes” aspects of blogging, AKA – site design and development. Ugh. The thought makes me anxious. Maybe it’s because I was heavily involved in a website revamp at my job. Or maybe it’s because I have always been more focused on content and writing than making anything look “pretty.” There are so many options and it makes my head spin.

While I am playing with themes and layout, I am exploring new pages. You may notice a new addition I added today. In addition to Home and About, I now have a Redefining Disability page up in the header.

Last year I learned of the Redefining Disability Challenge. Blogger Rose B. Fischer created the interactive blogging challenge as a way to promote better representation of people with disabilities in the media. You can use the links above to learn more about it.

I decided to participate in this challenge as a way to help me organize my thoughts related to my disability “story.” I have lived with disability all of my life, but my relationship with it and my view of disability culture have changed with time. I am hoping the challenge will force me to explore some areas I am traditionally reluctant to share completely with strangers. It will also cause me to write honestly and openly about my vulnerabilities, my fears and my accomplishments. Those are not easy topics for me.

I chose to create a page for this as the challenge is long – 52 questions. Posts for this challenge will go live on Wednesdays, starting next week. If you are not interested in these posts, you can easily navigate away from them.

Unlike construction in New York, which seems to go on and on for every month there is no snow on the ground, my work will be completed this weekend. Hopefully when you come back to read Sunday morning’s post you will see a new look here. Or, maybe I will decide after playing around on Saturday I like things the way they are. I hope you will let me know what you think. I say that with the caveat that this is my site and I have to feel comfortable navigating it, so even if you make a critique I may not do anything about it. Until then, you can find me under my hard hat.

7 thoughts on “Under Construction

  1. Your blog beginning sounds like mine. I usually take a lot more time with planning, content, etc as well. I got to a point, though, where I was either going to just jump in or continue to wait until everything was perfect. I’ll check back in with you next week to see how things are progressing for you.

    Like

      • I chose the theme after playing around with several options. I liked the clean look of it. I also like the way it handles/presets graphics.
        I think it looks good on mobile and seems to be user friendly as far as links for sharing and navigating the blog itself.

        Like

  2. I’m liking this theme. I also played around with it but because I like to have a photo header I didn’t choose this one (It would overlay my photo with the blue colour).
    Nice large text and good photos too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

