What are you thankful for?

November is less than two weeks away. Rather than ask how in the world time continues to pass so quickly, I’d like to tell you what I plan to do this November with my blog.

Each November for the past four years I have participated in 30 Days of Thanks on my personal Facebook page. The premise of the challenge is simple. Each day, identify one thing for which you give thanks. It really is that simple. Write about it. If you feel inclined, share it with others using a blog or social media. The key task is to be consciously thankful for one thing every day. The sharing is optional and you can share in whatever manner makes you comfortable.

This will be my first time participating in this challenge using a blog. I have decided to use my blog as a vehicle to share my thanks to people who have made a difference in my life. When I was healing a broken heart this summer, kind words and compliments from loved ones and friends made such a positive difference in my attempts to find happiness every day. I wrote about that here. Now it’s my turn to let others know how important they are in my life.

I am starting to write the profiles I will share next month. You can join me in 30 Days of Thanks even if you aren’t a writer with a social media outlet.

30 Days of Thanks

What you can do:

  • Make a commitment to take time each day to identify one thing for which you are thankful.
  • Share your thankfulness with someone else. It doesn’t have to be on a blog, Twitter, Facebook or Instagram. Maybe you’ll want to sing a song each day. Or you’ll want to put it on a special calendar you can frame later. Be creative in how you share!
  • Let the good folks at 30 Days of Thanks know you are participating by sending an email to 30daysofthanks dot gmail dot com.
  • During the month of November, take a look at others who are blogging or sharing their experiences. You can find a list at the 30 Days website.

I hope you will consider joining me in this challenge. You may learn things about yourself which will inspire gratitude and happiness in others.

How will you share your 30 Days of Thanks? If you have done 30 Days in other years, please tell us about your experiences in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “What are you thankful for?

  1. Count me in, I also have done this on facebook for the last two years. It is such a wonderful thing, I wanted to do it year round and found an app called nappy tappers, which changed their name to the Gratitude app, and now whenever I think of it, I can post here year round.

    Like

  2. Very inspiring, Dee! I don’t know if this is something I ‘d want to blog about every day but maybe I can put my own spin on it. I’m a huge lover of thank you notes. Maybe I’ll mail a thank you note every day in November.

    Like

  3. I love the idea of thank you notes! But again, I am a “card” person. Making a decision by 10/31. We really do have so much to be thankful for in our every day lives. Thanks, can’t wait to read your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

