My Go-To Tunes

I love music, but I get bored when I hear the same thing over and over and over. Except for Sting. And James Taylor. And Carly Simon. And Stevie Wonder. And almost anything Sondheim had a hand in.

These songs are my “go-to” playlist – the music I can listen to no matter what I’m thinking, feeling or experiencing. I can always find a song to match my mood. Contemplative? Fragile by Sting. Need to cry over a lover you shouldn’t love anymore but can’t find the strength to leave? Every Day A Little Death. Need to dance in your car in traffic? Superstitious. Need something to sing at karaoke during happy hour? You’re So Vain.

OK – so maybe that last one is specific to me. You can pick your own karaoke go-to song.

Some days, like today, you just need a reminder that life isn’t all that complicated. It’s OK to feel afraid, but don’t let it stand in your way. On days like that, James comes through.

Leave a Reply

